Zoom stops app from sending iPhone users info to Facebook

Zoom stops app from sending iPhone users info to Facebook

Zoom released an update to their iOS app that removes code that was sending info about user information to Facebook shortly after Mother board’s Joseph Cox reported about it. The code was introduced when Zoom used Facebook ’ tools to implement a feature enabling users to use Facebook to log in. Zoom stated that it takes privacy very seriously and implied they were unaware the app was doing so.

Skeptic
Skeptic
Sirax
Sirax 1 months

I would type something here. But newsvoice considers it low value.

Skeptic
Skeptic 1 months

Information was being sent to Facebook even if you aren't using FB to log in and even if you don't have a FB account. Even though identity wasn't sent, info was personally identifying. This is probably the case with many apps that use FB as a log in and probably also those that use Google. Not clear that Zoom knew it was doing it.

Top in Tech
Get the App